Mindworks’ Weblog

Thinking Matters

Flipping

Posted by Andrew Cooper on July 21, 2008

Well, the new toy has arrived and what an excellent piece of kit it is.  You can find out all about it here and the manufacturer’s site is also well worth a look.  Lots of advantages over the competition: i.e. all the software comes on board and loads itself onto your computer when you plug it in; the ‘flip’ arm plugs straight into a USB socket – no cables to carry around; powered by 2xAA batteries so you don’t need to worry about re-charging; very simple to use and it fits in a shirt pocket.  The video is VGA quality so fine for Youtube and the web, which is what I wanted it for.

I’ve uploaded my first attempt, as you’ll see below.  The picture in the second shot is a bit wobbly (it was on a monopod for the first shot – it has a standard tripod mount) and I’m not used to doing improvised commentaries but for a first attempt I don’t think it’s too bad.  You can find out more about my nomination via the excellent wikipedia article here.

Hey, I’m on telly!

2 Responses to “Flipping”

  1. […] In the meantime,  In about three hours from now, I’m going to jump on a train with our son, Sam, and our bikes and head for the glorious city of Bath.  We’ll then cycle back to Newbury along the Kennet and Avon canal which I videoed for this post. […]

  2. […] can see the results of my first attempt at Flipping here. It was the day after we first met and she was fresh out of the box, having flown in from the US […]

Leave a Reply

 
